Alaska Car Accident Law
Alaska Car Accident Fault
Alaska has adopted the Pure Comparative Fault standard of negligence which means that if a person is partially at fault for causing his own injury, his damages will be reduced by his percentage of fault.
ALASKA CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
Alaska Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Personal Injury (single passenger): $50,000 in coverage for injury to an individual.
Personal Injury (multiple passengers): $100,000 in coverage for the driver and passengers in the car at the time of the accident.
Property Damage: $25,000 of minimum coverage.
Alaska Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $10,000 should be filed in Small Claims Court.
Alaska Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Alaska is 2 years from the date the injury occurred, or the time the injury was discovered if it could not have been immediately discovered.
Alaska Statutes Online: Alaska Stat. §09.10.010 et seq. (Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury); Alaska Stat. § 28.22.011 (Insurance Requirements); Alaska Stat., §22.15.040 (Small Claims Limits).
ALASKA CAR ACCIDENT REPORTS
Alaska Police Reports: You can request a copy of a police report of your car accident by contacting the police department nearest to where the car accident occurred. Every police department in Alaska has its own policies and procedures.
DMV: If a car accident results in injury, death, $2,000 or more in property damage, or occurs within a municipality, you must call the police department. If the car accident occurred outside of a municipality, contact the Alaska State Troopers. You must mail an Alaska Motor Vehicle Crash Form to the Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles within 10 days of the car accident if a Peace Officer does not investigate the car accident. In addition, for all car accidents resulting in $501 or more in damages, you must mail a Certificate of Insurance to the Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles within 15 days of the accident.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. Additionally, your auto insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.