Arkansas Car Accident Law
Arkansas Car Accident Fault
Arkansas has adopted the Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% standard of negligence. Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% means that if the injured party is 50% or more at fault in the car accident, he is absolutely barred from recovery for the other driver’s negligence.
ARKANSAS CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
Arkansas Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Personal Injury (single passenger): $25,000 in coverage for injury to an individual.
Personal Injury (multiple passengers): $50,000 in coverage for the driver and passengers in the car at the time of the accident.
Property Damage: $25,000 of minimum coverage.
Arkansas Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $5,000 should be filed in Small Claims Court.
Arkansas Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Arkansas is 3 years from the date the injury occurred, or the time the injury was discovered if it could not have been immediately discovered.
Arkansas Statutes Online: Arkansas Code Annotated §§16-56-104, 16-56-105, 16-114-203, 16-62-102 (Personal Injury Statute of Limitations); Arkansas Code Annotated, Title 16, Ch. 17, §§ 701-707, Ch 55-68 (Small Claims Courts and Procedure); Arkansas Code Annotated §§ 27-22-104 (Auto Insurance Requirements).
ARKANSAS CAR ACCIDENT REPORTS
Arkansas Police Reports: You can request a copy of a car accident report filed by the Arkansas State Police by completing a Crash Report online at the Arkansas State Police website.
DMV: Arkansas requires that any car accidents resulting in injury, death, or over $1,000 in property damage be reported to the Arkansas police within 30 days regardless of fault. To report a car accident in Arkansas, complete an Arkansas Motor Vehicle Accident Report (Form SR-1) online.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. Your insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.