Colorado Car Accident Fault
Colorado has adopted the Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% standard of negligence. Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% means that if the injured party is 50% or more at fault in the car accident, he is absolutely barred from recovery for the other driver’s negligence.
COLORADO CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
Colorado Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Colorado Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $7,000 should be filed in Small Claims Court. However, a claim based on property damage arising from a car accident may exceed $7,500 and be brought in Small Claims Court.
Colorado Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Colorado is 2 years from the date the injury occurred, or the time the injury was discovered if it could not have been immediately discovered. If the personal injury is caused by a car, the statute of limitations is 3 years.
Colorado Statutes Online: Colorado Revised Statutes §§ 13-80-102, 13-80-103 (Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury); Colorado Revised Statutes § 42-7-103 (Insurance Requirements); Colorado revised statutes, §§13.6.401-417; Colorado Rules of Civil Procedure for Small Claims Courts, Rule 501- 521 (Small Claims Limits).
COLORADO CAR ACCIDENT REPORTS
Colorado Police Reports: You can request a copy of a car accident report filed with the Department of Motor Vehicles by writing to the Colorado DMV and providing information about yourself and the accident. The Colorado DMV will take eight weeks to mail a car accident report to you.
DMV: After a car accident, compete and submit a Colorado Online Accident Report (DOR Form 447-E) with the Colorado State Patrol, or complete and mail the Colorado Online Accident Report form to the State of Colorado Motor Vehicle Division. All car accidents must be promptly reported to law enforcement authorities. It the car accident results in fatalities or injuries, law enforcement must be notified.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. Your insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.