Connecticut Car Accident
Connecticut Car Accident Fault
Connecticut has adopted the Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% standard of negligence. Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% means that if the injured party is 51% or more at fault for the car accident, he is absolutely barred from recovery for the other driver’s negligence.
CONNECTICUT CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
Connecticut Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Personal Injury (single passenger): $20,000 in coverage for injury to an individual.
Personal Injury (multiple passengers): $40,000 in coverage for the driver and passengers in the car at the time of the accident.
Property Damage: $10,000 of minimum coverage.
Connecticut Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $5,000 should be filed in Small Claims Court.
Connecticut Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Connecticut is 2 years from the date the injury occurred. If the injury could not have been immediately discovered, than from the time the injury was discovered, but no more than 3 years from the injury.
Connecticut Statutes Online: Connecticut General Statutes § 52-584 (Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury); Connecticut General Statutes § 14-112 (Motor Vehicles - Proof of financial responsibility / Insurance Requirements); Connecticut General Statutes § 51-15d (Small Claims); Connecticut General Statutes chapter 53 (Claims against the State).
CONNECTICUT CAR ACCIDENT REPORTS
Connecticut Police Reports: You can request a copy of a police report of a car accident by visiting the local police department where the car accident occurred. You can also complete a Request for Copy of Report form and mail it to the Connecticut Department of Public Safety.
DMV: After a car accident, you must report a car accident to the police if the car accident resulted in injury or death. Any police officer, agency, or individual who investigates a car accident must forward a copy of the car accident report to the Connecticut Department of Transportation. The Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles does not handle accident reporting, and you should obtain a copy of the accident report from the police.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. Your auto insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.