Florida Car Accidents
Fault: Florida has adopted the Pure Comparative Fault standard of negligence which means that if a person is partially at fault for causing his own injury in a car accident, his damages will be reduced by his percentage of fault.
FLORIDA CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
- Injury (single passenger): $10,000 of insurance coverage for injury to an individual.
- Injury (multiple passengers): $20,000 of insurance coverage for the driver and other passengers in the car.
- Florida Property Damage: The minimum property damage insurance coverage is $10,000 for a car accident.
Florida Small Claims Limit: If you are suing for damages of $5,000 or less, you must file in Florida small claims court.
Florida Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: A suit must be filed within 4 years after the date of the injury when involved in a car accident in Florida.
Florida Statutes Online: Fla. Stat. Ann. § 95.011 et seq. (Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury); Fla. Stat. Ann. § 627 et seq. (Insurance Requirements); Florida Rules of Court: Small Claims Rules, Rules 7.101-7.345 (Small Claims Limits).
FLORIDA CAR ACCIDENT REPORTS
- Florida Police Reports: To request a police report from the Florida Highway Patrol, contact the local Florida Highway Patrol where the accident occurred. Complete a Request a Crash Report and mail it to the Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles.
- DMV: If the car accident results in injury or death of any person, or there is apparent damage to the vehicle of more than $500, a Driver Report of a Traffic Crash must be filed as soon as possible with the local law enforcement department.
- Insurance Notification: Notify your insurance company as soon as possible after the accident. Insurance companies have different notice requirements, so make sure to check your policy.