Georgia has adopted the Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% standard of negligence. Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% means that if the injured party is 50% or more at fault in the car accident, he is absolutely barred from recovery for the other driver’s negligence.
GEORGIA CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
Georgia Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Georgia Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $15,000 should be filed in Magistrate Court. Georgia does not have a Small Claims Court.
Georgia Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Georgia is 2 years from the date the injury occurred, or the time the injury was discovered if it could not have been immediately discovered.
Georgia Statutes Online: Georgia Code Annotated § 9-3-33 (Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury); Georgia Vehicle Code § 40-6-10 (Insurance Requirements); Georgia Code Annotated Title 15, Ch. 10, §§ 1, 2, 40-53 (Magistrate Court Claim Limits).
GEORGIA CAR ACCIDENT REPORTS
Georgia Police Reports: To obtain a copy of a police report of a car accident, visit the local law enforcement agency where the car accident occurred. You can also request a copy of a car accident report filed with the Georgia Department of Transportation online.
DMV: If law enforcement is not notified, you should complete a Personal Report of Accident and keep it for your personal use. You must report the car accident to local law enforcement when the property damage to any vehicle is over $500 or if any person in the accident has suffered injury or death.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. Your insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.