Iowa Car Accident
Iowa Car Accident Fault
Iowa has adopted the Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% standard of negligence. Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% means that if the injured party is 51% or more at fault in the car accident, he is absolutely barred from recovery for the other driver’s negligence.
IOWA CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
Iowa Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Personal Injury (single passenger): $20,000 in coverage for injury to an individual.
Personal Injury (multiple passengers): $40,000 in coverage for the driver and passengers in the car at the time of the accident.
Property Damage: $15,000 of minimum coverage.
Iowa Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $5,000 should be filed in Small Claims Court.
Iowa Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Iowa is 2 years from the date the injury occurred, or the time the injury was discovered if it could not have been immediately discovered.
IOWA CAR ACCIDENT REPORTS
Iowa Police Reports: You can request a copy of a police report of your car accident, or a report that you filed by mailing your request to the Iowa Department of Transportation.
DMV: If a car accident results in injury, death, or $1,000 or more in damages, you must report the car accident to the Iowa Department of Transportation within 72 hours and contact the police. To report a car accident, file an Iowa Car Accident Report Form #433002. Mail pages 3 and 4 to the Iowa Department of Transportation. If the police file a car accident report, you do not need to file a car accident report.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. Additionally, your insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.