Idaho Car Accident Law
Idaho Car Accident Fault
Idaho has adopted the Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% standard of negligence. Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% means that if the injured party is 50% or more at fault for the car accident, he is absolutely barred from recovery for the other driver’s negligence.
IDAHO CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
Idaho Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Personal Injury (single passenger): $25,000 in coverage for injury to an individual.
Personal Injury (multiple passengers): $50,000 in coverage for the driver and passengers in the car at the time of the accident.
Property Damage: $15,000 of minimum coverage.
Idaho Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $5,000 should be filed in the Small Claims Court.
Idaho Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Idaho is 2 years from the date the injury occurred.
Idaho Statutes Online: Idaho Statutes § 5-221 (Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury); Idaho Statutes § 49-1229 (Insurance Requirements); Idaho Statutes §1-2301 (Small Claims Limits); Idaho Statutes 1-2306 (Small Claims Procedure).
IDAHO CAR ACCIDENT REPORTS
Idaho Police Reports: You can request a copy of a Traffic Accident Report by contacting the law enforcement agency that investigated the car accident.
DMV: In Idaho, if the car accident results in injury, death, or $1,500 or more in damages, report the accident to the police. Investigating police officers are required to complete and send Vehicle Crash Reports to the Idaho Office of Highway Safety.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. Additionally, your auto insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.