Kansas Car Accident Law
Kansas Car Accident Fault
Kansas has adopted the Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% standard of negligence. Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% means that if the injured party is 50% or more at fault in the car accident, he is absolutely barred from recovery for the other driver’s negligence.
KANSAS CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
Kansas Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Personal Injury (single passenger): $25,000 in coverage for injury to an individual.
Personal Injury (multiple passengers): $50,000 in coverage for the driver and passengers in the car at the time of the accident.
Property Damage: $10,000 of minimum coverage.
Kansas Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $4,000 should be filed in Small Claims Court.
Kansas Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Kansas is 2 years from the date the injury occurred, or the time the injury was discovered if it could not have been immediately discovered. A personal injury action cannot be brought after 10 years from the injury.
Kansas Statutes Online: Kansas Revised Statutes § 12-2836 (Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury); Kansas Revised Statutes § 40-3107 (Insurance Requirements); Kansas Statutes § 61-2706 (Small Claims Court and Procedures).
KANSAS CAR ACCIDENT REPORTS
Kansas Police Reports: You can request a copy of a police report of your car accident by contacting the local police department nearest to where the car accident occurred. Crash Reports may also be obtained in person, or in writing from the Kansas Highway Patrol’s Records Section.
DMV: If a car accident results in injury, death, or $1,000 or more in property damage, you must report the car accident to the police.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. Additionally, your auto insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.