Louisiana Car Accident Law
Louisiana Car Accident Fault
Louisiana has adopted the Pure Comparative Fault standard of negligence which means that if a person is partially at fault for causing his own injury, his damages will be reduced by his percentage of fault.
LOUISIANA CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
Louisiana Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Personal Injury (single passenger): $10,000 in coverage for injury to an individual.
Personal Injury (multiple passengers): $20,000 in coverage for the driver and passengers in the car at the time of the accident.
Property Damage: $10,000 of minimum coverage.
Louisiana Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $3,000 should be filed in Small Claims Court.
Louisiana Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Louisiana is 1 year from the date the injury occurred.
Louisiana Statutes Online: Louisiana Civil Code. Art. 3492 (Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury); Louisiana Revised Statutes § 32.900 (Insurance Requirements); Louisiana Revised Statutes Annotated, §§ 13.5200-5212; Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure, Articles 4831, 4832, 4845, 4911-4925. (Small Claims Limits and Procedure).
LOUISIANA CAR ACCIDENT REPORTS
Louisiana Police Reports: You can request a copy of a police report of your car accident by completing the Online Crash Report, in person with any Troop, or at the State Police Traffic Records Unit at Headquarters in Baton Rouge. Alternatively, you can complete the crash form and mail it to the Louisiana Office of the State Police.
DMV: Report all car accidents to the police whether or not there has been injury, death, or property damage. Complete the Louisiana Accident Report Form, and submit it to the Louisiana Office of Risk Management within 48 hours of the car accident.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. Additionally, your auto insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.