Maine Car Accident Law
Maine Car Accident Fault
Maine has adopted the Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% standard of negligence. Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% means that if the injured party is 50% or more at fault for the car accident, he is absolutely barred from recovery for the other driver’s negligence.
MAINE CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
Maine Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Personal Injury (single passenger): $50,000 in coverage for injury to an individual.
Personal Injury (multiple passengers): $100,000 in coverage for the driver and passengers in the car at the time of the accident.
Property Damage: $25,000 of minimum coverage.
Maine Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $6,000 should be filed in the Small Claims Court.
Maine Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Maine is 6 years from the date the injury occurred.
Maine Statutes Online: Maine Revised Statutes § 11.190 et seq. (Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury); Maine Revised Statutes § 485.185 (Insurance Requirements); Maine Revised Statutes, Title 14 §§ 7481-7487 (Small Claims Limits and Procedures).
MAINE CAR ACCIDENT REPORTS
Maine Police Reports: You can request a copy of a police accident report online by accessing the Maine Crash Reporting Service, or by sending a written request to the Maine State Police, Traffic Division. If the car accident resulted in less than $1,000 in damages and did not result in injury or death, there will not be a car accident report filed in the system.
DMV: Maine requires that if a car accident results in injury, death, or over $1,000 in damage to vehicles or property, you must report the accident to the police. The investigating officer will file a Crash Report with the Maine State Police, Traffic Division. If the police do not file a Crash Report, you should fill out a Driver Report Form, which can be obtained from the police officers investigating the car accident.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident and mail your insurance company a copy of your Driver Report Form. Additionally, your auto insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.