New Hampshire Car Accident Law
New Hampshire Car Accident Fault
New Hampshire has adopted the Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% standard of negligence. Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% means that if the injured party is 51% or more at fault for the car accident, he is absolutely barred from recovery for the other driver’s negligence.
NEW HAMPSHIRE CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
New Hampshire Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
New Hampshire is not a mandatory or compulsory insurance state. However, the Department of Safety Division of Motor Vehicles recommends that you have bodily injury liability minimum coverage of:
Personal Injury (single passenger): $25,000 in coverage for injury to an individual.
Personal Injury (multiple passengers): $50,000 in coverage for the driver and passengers in the car at the time of the accident.
Property Damage: $25,000 of minimum coverage.
New Hampshire Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $7,500 should be filed in Small Claims Court.
New Hampshire Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in New Hampshire is 3 years from the date the injury occurred, or the time the injury was discovered if it could not have been immediately discovered.
New Hampshire Statutes Online: New Hampshire Statutes Ch. 1 Section 52, 54 (Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury); New Hampshire Statutes Ch. 143A, Article 9, Chapter 58, Article 32, Chapter 116, Article 26 (Insurance Requirements); New Hampshire Statutes Ch. 503 Section 1 (Small Claims Limits); New Hampshire Statutes, Ch. 1A, Rules of Civil Procedure (Small Claims Procedure).
NEW HAMPSHIRE ACCIDENT REPORTS
New Hampshire Police Reports: You can request a copy of a motor vehicle accident report by completing a Release of Motor Vehicle Records (Form DSMV 505) and mailing the Release of Motor Vehicle Records to the New Hampshire Department of Safety, Division of Motor Vehicles.
DMV: New Hampshire requires that you file a Motor Vehicle Accident Report within 15 days of the car accident to the Department of Safety, Division of Motor Vehicles if the car accident results in injury, death, or $1,000 or more in damages, and if the police do not respond to the car accident.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. In addition, your insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.