New Mexico Car Accident Law
New Mexico Car Accident Fault
New Mexico has adopted the Pure Comparative Fault standard of negligence which means that if a person is partially at fault for causing his own injury, his damages will be reduced by his percentage of fault.
NEW MEXICO CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
New Mexico Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Personal Injury (single passenger): $25,000 in coverage for injury to an individual.
Personal Injury (multiple passengers): $50,000 in coverage for the driver and passengers in the car at the time of the accident.
Property Damage: $10,000 of minimum coverage.
New Mexico Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $10,000 should be filed in Small Claims Court.
New Mexico Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in New Mexico is 3 years from the date the injury occurred, or the time the injury was discovered if it could not have been immediately discovered.
New Mexico Statutes Online: New Mexico Statutes Ch. 37, Art. 1, Sec. 37-1-8 (Statute of Limitations for personal injury); New Mexico Statutes, Ch. 34, Article 8A, Sections 1- 13; Ch. 35, Article 3, Sections 3-6; Ch. 35, Article 8, Sections 1-2; Ch. 35, Article 13, Section 2; Magistrate Court Rules of Civil Procedure, Rules 101-805; Metropolitan Court Rules of Civil Procedure, Rules 101-804 (Small Claims Limits and Procedure and Requirements).
NEW MEXICO ACCIDENT REPORTS
New Mexico Police Reports: You can request a copy of a motor vehicle accident report by contacting the New Mexico Department of Transportation.
DMV: New Mexico requires that you contact the police and file a New Mexico Uniform Crash Report with the New Mexico Department of Transportation within 5 days of the car accident if the car accident results in injury, death, or over $500 in damages.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. In addition, your insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.