Nevada Car Accident Law
Nevada Car Accident Fault
Nevada has adopted the Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% standard of negligence. Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% means that if the injured party is 51% or more at fault in the car accident, he is absolutely barred from recovery for the other driver’s negligence.
NEVADA CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
Nevada Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Personal Injury (single passenger): $15,000 in coverage for injury to an individual.
Personal Injury (multiple passengers): $30,000 in coverage for the driver and passengers in the car at the time of the accident.
Property Damage: $10,000 of minimum coverage.
Nevada Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $5,000 should be filed in Small Claims Court.
Nevada Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Nevada is 2 years from the date the injury occurred, or if the injury could not have been immediately discovered, when the injury is discovered.
Nevada Statutes Online: Nevada Revised Statutes § 11.190 et seq. (Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury); Nevada Revised Statutes § 485.185 (Insurance Requirements); Nevada Revised Statutes §§ 73.010-.060 (Small Claims Limits); Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure, Ch. XII, Rules 88- 100 (Small Claims Procedure).
NEVADA CAR ACCIDENT REPORTS
Nevada Police Reports: You may obtain a copy of a police report by visiting the local police department where the accident occurred or from the Nevada DMV.
DMV: Nevada requires that each driver complete a Report of a Traffic Accident (DMV Form SR-1) within 10 days of the car accident if the car accident was not investigated at the scene by law enforcement and if the accident resulted in property damage of more than $750, injury, or death. Submit the report to the Nevada DMV.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. In addition, your insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.