Ohio Car Accident Law
Ohio Car Accident Fault
Ohio has adopted the Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% standard of negligence. Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% means that if the injured party is 51% or more at fault in the car accident, he is absolutely barred from recovery for the other driver’s negligence.
OHIO CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
Ohio Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Personal Injury (single passenger): $12,500 in coverage for injury to an individual.
Personal Injury (multiple passengers): $25,000 in coverage for the driver and passengers in the car at the time of the accident.
Property Damage: $7,500 of minimum coverage.
Ohio Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $3,000 should be filed in Small Claims Court.
Ohio Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Ohio is 2 years from the date the injury occurred, or the time the injury was discovered if it could not have been immediately discovered.
Ohio Statutes Online: Ohio Revised Code § 2305.10. (Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury); Ohio Revised Code § 4509.51 et seq. (Insurance Requirements); Ohio Revised Code § 1925.01 et seq.; § 2307.01 et seq. (Small Claims Courts and Procedure).
OHIO CAR ACCIDENT REPORTS
Ohio Police Reports: You can request a copy of a police report made by the Ohio State Highway Patrol by mailing a written request to the Ohio Department of Public Safety, Ohio State Highway Patrol. To request a copy of a State Crash Report, complete the online Retrieve Ohio Crash Report form.
DMV: Ohio requires that after a car accident you call the police and remain with the injured party until the police arrive. If the accident involved injury, death, over $400 in damages, and an uninsured motorist you should file a Crash Report with the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles within 6 months of the accident.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. In addition, your insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.