Oklahoma Car Accident
Oklahoma Car Accident Fault
Oklahoma has adopted the Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% standard of negligence. Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% means that if the injured party is 50% or more at fault for the car accident, he is absolutely barred from recovery for the other driver’s negligence.
OKLAHOMA CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
Oklahoma Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Personal Injury (single passenger): $25,000 in coverage for injury to an individual.
Personal Injury (multiple passengers): $50,000 in coverage for the driver and passengers in the car at the time of the accident.
Property Damage: $25,000 of minimum coverage.
Oklahoma Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $6,000 should be filed in Small Claims Court.
Oklahoma Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Oklahoma is 2 years from the date the injury occurred, or the time the injury was discovered if it could not have been immediately discovered.
Oklahoma Statutes Online: Oklahoma Revised Statutes § 11.190 et seq. (Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury); Oklahoma Revised Statutes § 485.185 (Insurance Requirements); Oklahoma Revised Statutes §§ 73.010-.060 (Small Claims Limits); Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure, Ch. XII, Rules 88- 100 (Small Claims Procedure).
OKLAHOMA CAR ACCIDENT REPORTS
Oklahoma Police Reports: To obtain a copy of a car accident report filed by the police or another driver with the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety, complete a Records Request and Consent to Release form and mail it to the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety. Car accident report requests cannot be made by telephone or email.
DMV: In Oklahoma, if the police are not contacted, you must submit an Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Collision Report to the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety if the accident resulted in injury, death, or over $300 in property damage.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. Additionally, your insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.