Rhode Island Car Accident Law
Rhode Island Car Accident Fault
Rhode Island has adopted the Pure Comparative Fault standard of negligence which means that if a person is partially at fault for causing his own injury, his damages will be reduced by his percentage of fault.
RHODE ISLAND CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
Rhode Island Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Personal Injury (single passenger): $25,000 in coverage for injury to an individual.
Personal Injury (multiple passengers): $50,000 in coverage for the driver and passengers in the car at the time of the accident.
Property Damage: $25,000 of minimum coverage.
Rhode Island Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $2,500 should be filed in Small Claims Court.
Rhode Island Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Rhode Island is 3 years from the date the injury occurred, or the time the injury was discovered if it could not have been immediately discovered.
Rhode Island Statutes Online: Rhode Island General Laws §9-1-14 (Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury); Rhode Island General Laws 31-32-24 (Insurance Requirements); Rhode Island General Laws 10-16-1 (Small Claims Limits, Small Claims Procedure).
RHODE ISLAND ACCIDENT REPORTS
Rhode Island Police Reports: To request a police car accident report, contact the Rhode Island State Police, or complete a Rhode Island State Police Public Records Request Form and mail it to the Rhode Island State Police.
DMV: Rhode Island requires that you contact the police and report a car accident to the Rhode Island Department of Motor Vehicles within 21 days of the accident if the car accident results in injury, death, or $1,000 or more in damages. Complete a Rhode Island Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Accident Report and mail it to the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles, Office of Safety Responsibility.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. In addition, your insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.