Utah Car Accident Law
Utah Car Accident Fault
Utah has adopted the Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% standard of negligence. Proportional Comparative Fault at 50% means that if the injured party is 50% or more at fault for the car accident, he is absolutely barred from recovery for the other driver’s negligence.
UTAH CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
Utah Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Personal Injury (single passenger): $25,000 in coverage for injury to an individual.
Personal Injury (multiple passengers): $65,000 in coverage for the driver and passengers in the car at the time of the accident.
Property Damage: $15,000 of minimum coverage.
Utah Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $10,000 should be filed in Small Claims Court.
Utah Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Utah is 4 years from the date the injury occurred, or the time the injury was discovered if it could not have been immediately discovered.
Utah Statutes Online: Utah Code Annotated 78-12-28 (Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury); Utah Code 31A-22-304 (Insurance Requirements); Utah Code § 78A-8-102 (Small Claims Limits, Small Claims Procedure).
UTAH CAR ACCIDENT REPORTS
Utah Police Reports: To obtain a copy of a car accident report filed by the Utah Highway Patrol with the Utah Department of Public Safety, complete a Request for Accident Report Records and mail it to the Utah Department of Public Safety. Alternatively, you can contact the Utah Highway Patrol Office in the county or area where the car accident occurred.
DMV: You must call the police if the car accident resulted in injury, death, or over $1,000 in property damage. You must report the car accident to the Utah Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days if the police do not file a car accident report.
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. Additionally, your insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.