Wisconsin Car Accident Law
Wisconsin Car Accident Fault
Wisconsin has adopted the Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% standard of negligence. Proportional Comparative Fault at 51% means that if the injured party is 51% or more at fault in the car accident, he is absolutely barred from recovery for the other driver’s negligence.
WISCONSIN CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS
Wisconsin Bodily Injury Liability Minimum Coverage
Personal Injury (single passenger): $25,000 in coverage for injury to an individual.
Personal Injury (multiple passengers): $50,000 in coverage for the driver and passengers in the car at the time of the accident.
Property Damage: $10,000 of minimum coverage.
Wisconsin Small Claims Limit: Car accident claims under $5,000 should be filed in Small Claims Court.
Wisconsin Personal Injury Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations for personal injury claims in Wisconsin is 3 years from the date the injury occurred, or the time the injury was discovered if it could not have been immediately discovered.
Wisconsin Statutes Online: Wisconsin Statutes Annotated § 893.01 et seq.§ 335.1 (Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury); Wisconsin Code § 344.29 (Insurance Requirements); Wisconsin Statutes Annotated, Ch. 799, Sections 01- 45 (Small Claims Requirements).
WISCONSIN CAR ACCIDENT REPORTS
Wisconsin Police Reports: You can request a copy of a car accident report by contacting the local police department where the car accident occurred.
DMV: Wisconsin requires that after a car accident you report the car accident to the police and the DMV within 10 days of the accident if the accident involved injury, death, over $1,000 in damages to personal property, or damages of $200 or more to government property. If the police do not file a report, you must file a report with the Wisconsin Department of Transportation by completing and submitting a Wisconsin Driver Report of Accident (Form MV4002).
Insurance Notification: You should promptly notify your auto insurance company of a car accident. In addition, your insurance company may have specific notification requirements, so you should check your insurance policy for these notice requirements.