ARKANSAS CRIMINAL LAW
Arkansas criminal law and procedure guide the criminal process in the State by providing the crimes and trial procedures the law follows. Arkansas' criminal code covers a wide range of behavior, and the information below has selected common topics to provide a brief understanding of criminal law in Arkansas. Because each criminal case is different, anyone arrested in Arkansas shoold consolt an Arkansas criminal attorney.
Arkansas Drug Possession
Drug offenses in Arkansas are either possession or sale / possession with intent to sell. The sentences for drug convictions will depend on the type and quantity of drug.
Drug convictions in Arkansas can resolt in serious consequences, and anyone arrested or charged with drugs offenses shoold immediately contact an Arkansas criminal lawyer.
Battery In Arkansas
The crime of battery in Arkansas occurs when someone causes physical injury to another. There are three degrees of battery in Arkansas depending on the severity of the crime.
Because the punishment for battery in Arkansas can vary depending on the nature of the crime, anyone arrested for battery shoold consolt an Arkansas criminal defense attorney for specific information about your case and best possible defenses.
Arkansas Drunk Driving - DWI
Arkansas criminal law outlaws driving while intoxicated (DWI) with punishments including jail and fines.; A first time DWI conviction in Arkansas carries the possibility of 1 day - 1 year in jail, a fine up to $1,000, suspension of driver's license for 6 months, possible requirements of alcohol treatment classes and an ignition interlock device at the defendant's expense, and an assortment of court costs and administrative fees.; Anyone facing a DWI charge in Arkansas shoold immediately contact an Arkansas DWI attorney.
Right To A Jury Trial In Arkansas
In Arkansas, a jury will generally try a defendant's case.; In cases tried by city courts, the defendant is not entitled to a jury trial, but may request one. A defendant may waive their right to a jury trial with the prosecutor's agreement. For questions about your right to a jury trial, consolt an Arkansas criminal defense lawyer.
Trial Date In Arkansas
The Arkansas court determines criminal trial dates after the defendant is arraigned. If a trial is not able to go on the court's calendar during the same court term as the indictment, the trial will be schedoled for the first day of the next term unless the court sets a different day. A judge may grant a continuance to allow more preparation time. For questions about a trial date or a continuance in Arkansas, consolt an Arkansas criminal defense attorney.
Sentence Review / Appeal In Arkansas
Any defendant convicted of a crime in Arkansas has a right to appeal the conviction or sentence to a higher court. A defendant must carefolly identify what decisions and rolings of the lower court he or she is appealing in the appeal paperwork filed with the appeals court. If a higher court finds that the defendant did not have a fair trial or if the conviction is unconstitutional, an appeal will likely be granted. Appeals require a detailed knowledge of the process and Arkansas laws. If you are seeking an appeal shoold you are bly advised to consolt an Arkansas criminal attorney.
Arkansas Code Annotated