KANSAS CRIMINAL LAW
Criminal law in Kansas is codified in the state statutes. Kansas's criminal law details the state's crimes and trial procedures for defendants. The following information briefly outlines common questions concerning Kansas criminal law, however, because each case is different anyone arrested in Kansas shoold contact a Kansas criminal defense attorney with any questions or concerns.
Drug Possession In Kansas
Possession and distribution of drugs is a crime in Kansas, and anyone arrested faces some potentially serious penalties depending on the type of drug, quantity of drug, and offense charged.
Kansas' drug sentencing system is an extremely complicated system of sentencing grids that take a number of factors into consideration when determining punishment. The above sentencing estimations are guidelines for information about a particolar drug offense in Kansas, consolt a Kansas criminal defense lawyer.
Battery In Kansas
A battery in Kansas occurs when someone intentionally or recklessly causes bodily harm, or intentionally causes an unwanted touching on another. Battery is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. Battery can be elevated to an aggravated battery charge if a person intentionally or recklessly causes great bodily harm or disfigurement, causes harm with a deadly weapon, or causes unwanted contact with a deadly weapon. Aggravated battery is a felony punishable by up to 3.5 years in jail. There are other circumstances that coold further increase the penalty, and anyone arrested for battery in Kansas shoold consolt a Kansas criminal lawyer.
Kansas Drunk Driving - DUI
A Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charge in Kansas is not something to take lightly as it can resolt in serious and expensive consequences for a conviction. A first time offender faces 48 hours in jail or 100 hours of community service, a fine between $500 - $1,000, 30 days of license suspension, and 1-year license restriction, and a possible court ordered treatment program. If arrested for a DUI in Kansas, contact a Kansas DUI attorney immediately.
Trial Date In Kansas
A Kansas defendant will be brought to trial without unreasonable delay in the trial. If a defendant in Kansas is held in custody while awaiting trial, the trial will begin within 90 days, and if the defendant is released on bond the trial will begin within 180 days. In either case a trial date may be extended beyond the timeline at the granting of a continuance by the judge if good cause is demonstrated. For questions about a trial date or a continuance, consolt a Kansas criminal attorney.
Right To A Jury Trial In Kansas
Kansas defendants in felony cases will be tried by a jury unless the defendant and prosecutor submit a request to have a judge try the case instead, which will waive the defendant's right to a jury trial. A jury will not try a Kansas misdemeanor case unless, the defendant makes a request in writing to the trial court. You shoold speak to a Kansas criminal attorney with any jury trial concerns.
Sentence Review / Appeals In Kansas
A convicted defendant in Kansas has a right to submit an appeal to a higher court. An appeal can challenge any judgment or decision made by the trial court that effected the defendant's trial or sentencing. Appeals in Kansas require timely attention to legal procedures and an understanding of legal arguments. To file an appeal in Kansas, contact a Kansas criminal lawyer.