NEVADA CRIMINAL LAW
The State of Nevada details criminal law and criminal trial procedure in the State statutes. Nevada's criminal law code contains a large collection of rules covering a wide variety of topics. Some of those topics are outlined below in an effort to highlight some of the critical aspects of Nevada criminal law. Because each case is different and judged on the unique facts of the situation, anyone arrested in Nevada should contact a Nevada criminal attorney for specific questions and assistance.
Nevada Drug Possession
Nevada's laws against drug possession and sale provide varying punishments depending on the type of drug, the quantity of drug possessed, and the age of the defendant. The primary age distinction arises in marijuana cases where the penalties for minors are much stiffer than penalties for adults. Possession of marijuana for anyone under 21 is a felony punishable by 1 - 4 years in jail (or juvenile detention) and a fine up to $5,000. The penalties for adults:
A drug charge in Nevada is a serious offense, and the circumstances of the arrest will determine the appropriate penalty. Anyone arrested for drug possession in Nevada should contact a Nevada criminal defense attorney immediately.
Battery In Nevada
A battery charge in Nevada will be filed if someone is arrested for using willful and unlawful force on another person. The crime of battery can result in varying charges depending on the severity of the attack, the use of a weapon, or who the victim is.
Because a battery charge in Nevada carries a punishment that varies depending on the circumstances, anyone with specific questions regarding a battery offense should contact a Nevada criminal attorney.
Nevada Drunk Driving - DUI
A DUI arrest in Nevada is not something to take lightly as it can result in serious and expensive consequences for a conviction. A first time DUI conviction can carry jail time from 48 hours - 6 months, or 96 hours of community service. Your driver's license will be suspended for up to 90 days, with the possibility of a restricted license issued half way through. An ignition interlock device may be required for a restricted license. Additionally, anyone convicted of a DUI in Nevada will have to pay a fine between $400 - $1,000, pay tuition to an alcohol treatment class, and pay a collection of court fees and administrative costs to reinstate their driving privileges. If arrested for a DUI in Nevada, contact a Nevada DUI attorney immediately for advice and a defense to the charge.
Trial Date In Nevada
After a defendant in Nevada is arraigned, the court will set a trial date. The prosecutor may demand that a trial begin within 60 days of the arraignment, otherwise the trial date will be set as soon as possible. Either party may be granted a continuance to provide more time to prepare for the upcoming trial by submitting a written and signed affidavit to the court requesting a new trial date be set. For questions about setting a trial date or requesting a continuance, consult a Nevada criminal lawyer.
Right To Jury In Nevada
A Nevada defendant facing trial for minor crimes in a local Justice Court will not have a trial by jury unless he requests one in writing within 30 days of the trial date. Criminal cases in Nevada district courts will have a trial by jury unless the defendant files a written request to the judge to waive the trial by jury and be tried by the judge instead. A defendant in a capital case cannot waive the jury trial. It is advised to speak with a Nevada criminal defense lawyer with any jury trial questions or concerns.
Sentence Review / Appeals In Nevada
A convicted defendant in Nevada has a right to appeal their case to a higher court for review. A Nevada defendant may appeal the conviction or the sentence for errors made in applying the law to the facts of the defendant's case. An appeal in Nevada can be a complex process that requires timely attention to legal procedures. Any defendant considering an appeal should contact a Nevada criminal defense attorney prior to taking any appeal action.
Nevada Revised Statutes