SOUTH CAROLINA CRIMINAL LAW
South Carolina criminal law contains statutes and rules outlining punishments for crimes and procedures for crminal trials. The information below is a brief summary of the most common questions about South Carolina criminal law. South Carolina's criminal law statutes can be complex and punishments will vary depending on the specific nature of each offense, so any defendant with specific questions should contact a South Carolina criminal attorney.
Drug Possession In South Carolina
Possessing and distributing drugs in South Carolina can be a serious offense depending on the nature of the possession and the type of drug.
South Carolina takes drug offenses very seriously issuing steep fines and lengthy prison sentences to those convicted. Anyone arrested for possession or sale of drugs should immediately contact a South Carolina criminal defense lawyer.
Assault In South Carolina
A person can be arrested for assault and battery in South Carolina for threatening or injuring another person. Assault and battery charges can vary in punishment depending on the severity of the crime, the use of a weapon, or who the victim is. More basic assault and battery charges can result in misdemeanor charges and up to one year in jail, while assault and battery with a weapon in South Carolina can be a felony charge with six months to several years in jail. If arrested for assault and battery in South Carolina, contact a South Carolina criminal lawyer.
South Carolina Drunk Driving - DUI
A DUI in South Carolina can result in serious and expensive consequences, and an arrest should not be taken lightly. A defendant convicted of a South Carolina DUI faces a license suspension of 6 months, a $400 fine, fees and assessments up to $500, 48 hours in jail or community service, and the possible requirement of alcohol rehabilitation classes. If arrested for a DUI in South Carolina, contact a South Carolina DUI attorney immediately.
Right To Jury Trial In South Carolina
South Carolina defendants cannot be convicted of a crime for which they have been accused unless, they receive a trial by a jury. A defendant accused of misdemeanors or minor felonies in South Carolina may waive the right to a jury trial and have a judge hear the case and issue a sentence. A defendant with questions about the right to a jury in South Carolina should contact a South Carolina criminal attorney.
Trial Date In South Carolina
A South Carolina defendant will receive a trial date after being indicted for a crime. Misdemeanors and felonies can be heard faster than more serious crimes, and in any case the parties may request a continuance to ask for a judge to allow more time to prepare for trial. For questions about a trial date or continuance, consult a South Carolina criminal lawyer.
Sentence Review And Appeal In South Carolina
A South Carolina defendant convicted of a crime may file a motion to appeal the conviction or sentence arguing the conviction was a violation of Constitutional rights, was excessive, was imposed by a court without jurisdiction, or was the result of any other error during trial. Any defendant who wants to review or challenge their sentence or conviction should consult a South Carolina criminal defense attorney prior to sentencing.
South Carolina Code of Laws