Tennessee Criminal Law
Tennessee criminal law and procedure is made up of several statutes detailing crimes, punishments, and court processes in criminal trials. The information below is a condensed selection of common issues in Tennessee criminal law gathered to provide a basic understanding of the topic. If you have been charged with violating a criminal law in Tennessee, you should contact a Tennessee criminal defense attorney.
Drug Possession in Tennessee
Drug crimes in Tennessee carry varying sentences for different types of drugs, quantities of drugs, and the criminal charge brought against the defendant:
Assault in Tennessee
Assault in Tennessee covers what many people consider when they hear the term "assault and battery."
There are a number of circumstances under which an assault charge in Tennessee can lead to steeper penalties; if arrested for assault in Tennessee, contact a Tennessee criminal defense attorney.
Tennessee Drunk Driving DUI will change effective January 1st, 2011.
A first time DUI offender in Tennessee faces 48 hours in jail, fines ranging between $350 - $1,500, license suspension of 1 year, a mandatory DUI education program, assorted fees totaling to almost $5,000, and a possible installation of an ignition interlock device. High Blood Alcohol Content levels or other circumstances elevating the risk of harm to others can result in an increase in jail time and fines. If arrested for a DUI in Tennessee, contact a Tennessee DUI attorney.
Right to Jury in Tennessee
With the exception of trials for small offenses, a criminal defendant on trial in Tennessee has a right to a jury trial. A defendant may waive this right by submitting the waiver request in writing, getting the consent of the prosecutor, and the approval of the trial court.
Trial Date in Tennessee
The Tennessee code grants a defendant a right to a speedy trial. A Tennessee court will make every effort to set the trial date within 180 days of the date of the defendant's indictment, and if the trial does not occur in that time the court will set out a reason for the delay. A court may grant a continuance at the request of either party if there is reason to do so.
Sentence Review / Appeal
In Tennessee a convicted defendant in Tennessee has the right to appeal a court order on a motion, the judgment or verdict, or the sentence. In order to file an appeal a defendant must allege a cause for the review stemming from a violation of his rights during the trial or sentencing. Appeals require timely attention to procedural details; contact a Tennessee criminal attorney for more information or assistance in filing an appeal.
Tennessee Code and Rules of Criminal Procedure
Click here for the Tennessee Code Annotated: