ALABAMA DUI LAW
Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Alabama:
Implied Consent and Chemical Test Refusal: Alabama has an Implied Consent Law. According to the law, by driving on the roads in Alabama, you have consented to a blood, urine, or breathalyzer test if an officer has reasonable grounds to believe you have been drinking or driving. If you refuse to comply, you drivers license will be automatically suspended for 90 days.
After you have been arrested for DUI, it is important that you contact an Alabama DUI attorney, especially because laws can vary from county to county.
DUI Arrest-Civil Case
DUI Arrest-Criminal Charges
If you are convicted of DUI and criminal charges have been filed against you, you have the right to an attorney, and should contact a qualified criminal lawyer to defend you and help you navigate the Alabama criminal justice system.
Reinstating Your License After DUI Conviction: You must pay a $275 fee to have your driver’s license reinstated if you have been convicted of DUI. Alabama only allows you to reinstate your license at certain locations. You must also have liability insurance to reinstate your license.
Effect of DUI on Car Insurance: You must file an SR-22 Proof of Insurance Certificate with the Alabama DMV in order to have your license reinstated. Car Insurance will be more costly after you have been convicted of DUI.
Effect of DUI on Driving Record: A DUI will remain on your record in Alabama for ten years.
Under 21 and DUI: Alabama’s Zero Tolerance law applies to anyone under the age of 21 who operates a motor vehicle with a BAC of .02% or higher. Your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days.