ARIZONA DUI LAW
Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Arizona:
Implied Consent and Chemical Test Refusal: According to Arizona’s Implied Consent Law, by virtue of your driving on public highways in Arizona, you have consented to a urine, blood, or breathalyzer test to determine whether, while driving, there is alcohol or any other drug in your system. If you fail to submit to such a test, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended for one year, even if you are not convicted of DUI. If you have been arrested for an Arizona DUI, you should get in touch with an Arizona DUI attorney, especially because laws can vary from county to county in Arizona.
Extreme DUI: Arizona has specific laws for “Extreme DUIs,” or, if your blood tested at or above the High BAC level of .15%. An Extreme DUI is a criminal misdemeanor.
Aggravated DUI: An Aggravated DUI in Arizona is one in which the person was driving on a suspended or revoked license, it was the person’s third DUI in five years, or there was a person under 15 in the vehicle at the time of the arrest.
DUI Arrest - Civil Case
DUI Arrest - Criminal Charges Because most DUIs in Arizona can qualify as Class One criminal misdemeanors, you are entitled to a lawyer, and should contact a criminal lawyer to defend you.
Potential Criminal Consequences: While your first or second DUIs may qualify as criminal misdemeanors, your third DUI may qualify as a felony.
Reinstating Your License After DUI Conviction: In order to reinstate your license, you must pay a $20 reinstatement fee and an application fee. In addition, you will be required to show proof of liability insurance. After your revocation period has ended, an investigation must be completed prior to the reinstatement of your license to ensure that you complied with all statutory requirements.
Effect of DUI on Car Insurance: For reinstatement of your driver’s license you are required to carry an SR-22 Proof of Insurance Certificate for at least three years from when your license was initially suspended. Your insurance company can provide you with the SR-22 form. Expect that your insurance premiums for liability insurance will increase dramatically after a DUI conviction.
Effect of DUI on Driving Record: If you are convicted of a DUI or and Extreme DUI, eight points will be taken off of your license.
Under 21 and DUI: In Arizona, if you have a BAC of .01% or higher, are under the age of 21, and are operating a motor vehicle, Arizona’s Zero Tolerance law applies. Your driver’s license will be suspended for two years, you must serve ten days in jail, perform community service, and pay a minimum fine of $250.