FLORIDA DUI LAW
Blood Alcohol Level (BAL) for a DUI in Florida:
Implied Consent and Chemical Test Refusal: Refusing to take a breathalyzer, blood, or urine test in Florida is a violation of Florida’s Implied Consent Law. A court will automatically suspend your license for one year after your first offense and 18 months after your second offense. If you were involved in an accident resulting in a serious injury, the Florida police may require you to take a blood test instead of a breathalyzer or urine test without your consent.
Because a DUI violation in Florida can result in serious and long term penalties, if you are charged with a DUI, you should strongly consider contacting an attorney who specializes in Florida DUI cases. Florida DUI law can vary from county to county, and hiring an attorney who knows the local court rules of your county can be a great help to you.
DUI Arrest-Civil Case
DUI Arrest-Criminal Charges
If you are convicted of a DUI and criminal charges have been filed against you, you have the right to an attorney, and should contact a qualified criminal lawyer to defend you and help you navigate the Florida criminal justice system.
Potential Criminal Consequences: If a DUI results in serious bodily harm, regardless of how many DUI convictions you have had, you can be charged with a Third Degree Felony. Any DUI violation that results in property damage can be charged as a First Degree Misdemeanor
Reinstating Your License After DUI Conviction:
Effect of DUI on Car Insurance: To qualify for a restricted license after a DUI, or to have your general license reinstated, you must have car insurance and present the Florida DMV with an SR-22 Proof of Insurance Certificate. Your insurance carrier may decide not to continue your insurance coverage if you are arrested for a DUI, or may raise your insurance rates every year for as many as 10 years.
Effect of DUI on Driving Record: In Florida, a DUI remains on your record permanently.
Under 21 and DUI: Florida’s Zero Tolerance law applies to anyone under the age of 21 who operates a motor vehicle with a BAL of .02% or higher. Your driver’s license will be automatically suspended for 6 months upon your first offense and 1 year on your second offense.