KENTUCKY DUI LAW
Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Kentucky:
Implied Consent and Chemical Test Refusal: In Kentucky, if you are driving or in physical control of a motor vehicle, you have consented to any blood, urine, or breath test that the arresting officer may give you to determine your BAC. Failing to consent to such a chemical test will result in the suspension of your driverís license from between 30 and 120 days. Penalties for receiving a DUI in Kentucky may result in severe, long-term results. You should speak with a Kentucky DUI attorney as laws in Kentucky may differ from county to county.
DUI Arrest - Civil Case
DUI Arrest - Criminal Charges
After you have had criminal charges filed against you for DUI in Kentucky, the process for defending yourself in court can be quite complicated. Contacting a Kentucky DUI lawyer can be a great benefit to you in the ensuing court process.
Reinstating Your License After DUI Conviction: Once you are eligible to reinstate your license, you must send a $40 reinstatement fee to the Circuit Court Clerkís Office or to one of the Driver Licensing Regional Field Offices. You should make your check payable to the Kentucky State Treasurer.
Effect of DUI on Car Insurance: Kentucky does not require you to file an SR-22 Certificate of Insurance for the reinstatement of your driverís license after you have been convicted of a DUI. However, your liability insurance premiums will increase drastically after your conviction for DUI.
Effect of DUI on Driving Record: A DUI remains on your driving record for at least 5 years; but, if you are charged criminally, a DUI remains on your criminal record forever.
Under 21 and DUI: If you violate the Zero Tolerance Law in Kentucky, your license will be suspended for between 30 days and 6 months, and you may be ordered to pay a fine or complete 20 hours of community service. You will break Kentuckyís Zero Tolerance Law if you are under 21, have a BAC of .02% or higher, and are driving a motor vehicle.