MINNESOTA DWI TEMPLATE
Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) for a DWI in Minnesota: Standard BAC: .08% or above Zero Tolerance BAC: .00% or above Commercial Drivers: .04% or above High BAC: .20% or above
Implied Consent and Chemical Test Refusal: Minnesota assumes that if you are operating a motor vehicle on Minnesota roads you have consented to a blood, breath, or urine test to determine your BAC. An officer will perform one of these chemical tests if he suspects that you are driving under the influence of alcohol. If you refuse the test, your license will be suspended for 1 year.
Seek counsel from a Minnesota lawyer who focuses on DWI cases. Minnesota rules for DWI cases can vary from county to county, so hiring a lawyer who knows the local laws is imperative to success in defending your case. Find Minnesota DWI lawyers here.
DWI Arrest-Civil Case
The following are aggravating factors in Minnesota:
DWI Arrest-Criminal Charges
Criminal convictions for drunk driving in Minnesota result in severe penalties. Because of these penalties, it is essential that you get advice from a Minnesota criminal lawyer.
Potential Criminal Consequences:
Reinstating Your License After DWI Conviction: To have your license reinstated after a DWI conviction in Minnesota, you must pass a written examination which focuses on DWIs, pay a $680 fine and a reapplication fee of $18.50, and fill out a reinstatement application.
Effect of DWI on Car Insurance: After a DWI conviction in Minnesota, you must have your insurance company file a SR-22 insurance form with the Minnesota DMV. This form signifies your financial responsibility. It can be very costly to obtain SR-22 insurance after you have been convicted of a DWI, and many insurance providers may refuse to insure you or charge you significantly higher premiums.
Effect of DWI on Driving Record: A DWI will stay on your driving record for at least 10 years, but can remain on your record indefinitely if you are convicted of a more serious alcohol related transgression.
Under 21 and DWI: Minnesota provides, in its Zero Tolerance Law, that a driver under the age of 21 with a BAC of .02% or above will have his license suspended for 6 months, and be subjected to the same criminal penalties as an adult.