Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Missouri:
Implied Consent and Chemical Test Refusal: Pursuant to Missouri's Implied Consent Law, if you are driving on the roads in Missouri you have agreed to submit to a chemical BAC test if an officer has probable cause that you are driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Refusing to submit to such a test is a Class A misdemeanor. Your license will automatically be revoked for one year. Subsequent refusals to comply with a BAC chemical test will be classified as Class D felonies. Make sure to contact a Missouri DUI lawyer if you have been arrested for driving under the influence.
DUI Arrest - Civil Case
DUI Arrest - Criminal ChargesSeek counsel from a Missouri criminal lawyer if you are criminally charged with a DUI. Potential Criminal Consequences:
Reinstating Your License After DUI Conviction: To get your license reinstated, you must pay a $45 reinstatement fee and file an SR-22 insurance form with the Missouri Department of Revenue. You must pay your fee at the central Driver License Bureau. You may also have to complete a driver test and a Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program. If you have been convicted of more than one DUI, you must show proof of an ignition interlock device, and retain the device for 6 months from the reinstatement of your license.
Effect of DUI on Car Insurance: You must prove that you have liability insurance by requesting that your insurance carrier file an SR-22 form with the Missouri Department of Revenue. Specifically request that your insurance company provide you with SR-22 insurance. Your DUI conviction may mean that an insurance company will not provide you with liability insurance or that your insurance premiums will greatly increase.SR-22 insurance must be maintained for a minimum of three years.
Effect of DUI on Driving Record: A conviction for a DUI in Missouri will remain on your driving record permanently.
Under 21 and DUI: You will attend a Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program, pay a fine, and have your license suspended for 90 days if you violate the Missouri Zero Tolerance Law. The Missouri Zero Tolerance Law prohibits a person under age 21, with a BAC of .02% or higher, from operating a motor vehicle.
Missouri Department of Revenuehttp://dor.mo.gov/drivers/dwiinfo.php
Missouri Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Programhttp://dmh.mo.gov//ada/satop/index.htm
Missouri Ignition Interlock Device Installershttp://www.modot.mo.gov/safety/documents/InstallerListingMay62010.pdf