Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Oklahoma:
Implied Consent and Chemical Test Refusal: Oklahoma retains an Implied Consent Law. This means that as an Oklahoma driver you have consented to a chemical BAC test if an officer pulls you over. Your urine, blood, saliva or breath can be tested for alcohol. Refusal of a BAC test will result in the seizure of your license and a license suspension of between 180 days to 3 years. Contacting an Oklahoma criminal defense lawyer to help you defend yourself after a DUI arrest is strongly recommended. DUI laws are often not uniform throughout the state, so, you should find an Oklahoma DUI attorney who specializes in DUI law in your area.
Oklahoma DUI Arrest - Civil Case
Oklahoma DUI Arrest - Criminal Charges The consequences of a criminal DUI conviction can be serious and long term. Because of the potential severity of the penalties, you should get in touch with an Oklahoma criminal lawyer immediately.
Potential Criminal Consequences: If you are criminally charged the first time you are arrested for DUI, you will be charged with a misdemeanor. However, your second DUI will be a felony if it was committed within ten years of your first DUI.
Reinstating Your License After Oklahoma DUI Conviction: After your conviction for DUI, the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety will inform you of the date when you will be able to reinstate your driver's license, the amount of the driver's license reinstatement fee, and instructions on obtaining an Alcohol Assessment. You must complete an Alcohol Assessment before your license may be reinstated.
Effect of Oklahoma DUI on Car Insurance: SR-22 "high risk" insurance is required in Oklahoma after you have been convicted of a DUI. High risk insurance rates can be very high, and often it can be difficult to find an insurance provider who will offer SR-22 policies.
Effect of Oklahoma DUI on Driving Record: DUI convictions in Oklahoma will never be removed from your driving record.
Under 21 and DUI: There are severe penalties for violating Oklahoma's Zero Tolerance Law. If you are underage, have a BAC of more than .00%, and are caught driving, you will be fined between $100 and $500, required to perform 20 hours of community service, and have your license revoked for six months after your first violation. If you are underage and were drunk driving you should speak with an Oklahoma DUI attorney.
Oklahoma DUI Resources
Oklahoma Department of Public Safety
Oklahoma Department of Transportation