Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Washington:
Implied Consent and Chemical Test Refusal: Washington State's Implied Consent Law conditions your driving privileges in the state on your implicit consent to a blood, urine, or breath test to ascertain your BAC, if the officer has a reasonable belief that you are driving with an unacceptable amount of alcohol in your system. Not submitting to the test results in the one year suspension of your driver's license, at minimum.
Defending yourself against a DUI charge in Washington State can be an incredibly stressful and challenging process. In order to make your situation a bit easier, you should find a Washington DUI attorney to represent you.
DUI Arrest - Civil Case
Potential Criminal Consequences of DUI: In Washington, you may be criminally charged for your first DUI. A first time DUI offense, and a second DUI offense are gross misdemeanors. Call a Washington State defense lawyer if you find yourself criminally charged for a DUI.
Reinstating Your License After DUI Conviction: When you are able to reinstate your driver's license you must have a SR-22 proof of financial responsibility on file with the Washington State Department of Licensing. Also, pay a $75 license reissue fee.
Effect of DUI on Car Insurance: It may be difficult for you to find affordable liability insurance after you have been convicted of a DUI in Washington. However, you are required to have an insurance company file a SR-22 endorsement of insurance for 36 consecutive months after your license has been reinstated.
Effect of DUI on Driving Record: Your Washington DUI will be present on your driving record for 15 years.
Under 21 and DUI: If you violate Washington's Zero Tolerance Law by driving with a BAC of .02% or higher when you are under 21-years-old, your license will be suspended for 90 days. You may also have to pay a fine or do community service. It is advisable to speak with a Washington criminal defense attorney about this matter.
Washington State Department of Licensing
Washington State Department of Transportation
Washington State DUI Statutes