What is the Statute of Limitations for bad checks?

Question Details:My husband was arrested last week during a routine drivers license check in SC. Apparently, he wrote a bad check 10 years ago for $33.11, and a warrant was issued in June 2001. He has no memory of the check, although he moved around during that time, and may not have received his mail. What puzzles me, is that he has been in trouble for other things since then, received traffic tickets, been to jail, etc., all in this same state. Yet, this was never even brought up. Why would they wait until now?

Asked 4 years ago under Criminal Defense | 6162 Views | More Legal Topics

Are you an attorney? Sign up to answer this question.
M.T.G., Member, New York Bar | FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney Answered 4 years ago

It is difficult to discern what exactly the statute of limitations for South Carolina is under the dishonored check statutes.  On line some have said 3 years.  The statute makes mention of 180 days. But the problem here is the warrant, not necessarily the check.  There must be a hearing on the warrant in order for it to be cleared up. I would hire an attorney as soon as you can to make sure that the warrant is vacated.  I am going to attach here a link to the dishonored check law so that you can read it.  And it appears that the maximum penalty for the check is $500.

badchecks.uslegal.com/state-laws/south-carolina-dishonored-check-law

Attorney Quick Finder

Top Ranking Attorneys

  • Kevin Bessant 741 Answers | Points 37030 Platinum Contributor
  • Anne Brady 719 Answers | Points 35930 Platinum Contributor
  • Hong Shen 568 Answers | Points 28400 Platinum Contributor
  • Catherine Blackburn 566 Answers | Points 27770 Platinum Contributor
  • Victor Waid 522 Answers | Points 26060 Platinum Contributor
  • Tricia Dwyer 480 Answers | Points 22150 Gold Contributor